Product teams should be thinking differently about documents.Read blog post.
Anvil Logo
Products
Industries
Resources
Developers
Workflows

Remove or merge fields in a Webform

Streamline your Webforms by removing or merging Webform fields. In this article, we’ll show you the basics on how to remove and merge Webform fields. We’ll also go over why you might want to merge duplicate Webform fields rather than deleting them.

Back to Help Center

Whether you’re creating a new Workflow or updating an existing one, you’ll sometimes find that some Webform fields aren’t necessary. Rather than having your customers fill in extra fields with the same information, remove or merge unneeded or duplicate fields.

Removing vs. merging Webform fields

Before you start removing or merging Webform fields, consider what you’re trying to accomplish first. Is the Webform field unnecessary or is it just a duplicate? Do you want to preserve any PDF connections?

Deleting a field from a Webform will automatically do two things:

  • Remove the Webform input
  • Disconnect any connected PDF fields

Merging Webform fields will:

  • Preserve your initial field
  • Remove your merged Webform input
  • Preserve all connected PDF fields

Which method you choose depends on what you want to accomplish. If you’d prefer to preserve all the PDF field connections, merging your Webform fields is the better option. However, if you just want to quickly delete Webform fields and you plan to connect PDF fields at a later time, deleting your Webform fields is faster.

Additionally, you can only merge fields if they are:

If the fields you’re trying to merge together don’t meet the criteria above, it’s faster to just delete the duplicate fields and reconnect any PDF fields than it is to change all the field types and move them to the same page before merging.

Please note that neither deleting nor merging Webform fields will delete PDF fields themselves. To delete PDF fields, please see this article instead.

Remove Webform fields

To delete your Webform fields:

  1. Navigate to your Workflow editor
  2. Hover your cursor over the the field you wish to delete
  3. Click the trashcan icon The trash icon is found to the right of the Webform field

Notes:

  • Clicking the trash can icon will delete your Webform field instantaneously. Made a mistake? Click the Undo button above the Webform to undo your action. The undo button is found between the play and redo button just above the Webform
  • Deleting your Webform field does not delete your PDF field. To delete your PDF field please see this article instead.

Merge Webform fields

To merge Webform fields:

  1. Navigate to your Workflow editor
  2. Select the Webform field you wish to preserve
  3. Click Combine another field into this one in the field editor panel to the right The combine field option is located under the field options in the field editor panel
    • To cancel combine click cancel combine The cancel combine option is directly under the field merging instructions
  4. Select the field you wish to merge into your initial field

Notes:

  • Selecting the field you want to merge will instantaneously merge your fields. Made a mistake? Click the Undo button above the Webform to undo your action. The undo button is found between the play and redo button just above the Webform
  • You can only merge fields that are on the same Webform page. To merge fields on other pages, you’ll need to move them first.
Back to Help Center

Other common posts

1 - 0 of 0

Sign up for a live demo

Request a 30-minute live demo today and we'll get in touch shortly. During the meeting our Sales team will help you find the right solution, including:
  • Simplifying data gathering
  • Streamlining document preparation
  • Requesting e-signatures
  • Building and scaling your business
Want to try Anvil first?Sign up for free
Want to try Anvil first?Sign up for free